Skip to content Skip to footer

Gentleman's Dub Club

“When I talk about energy, commitment, vibes and excitement – you haven’t seen anything until you’ve seen Gentleman’s Dub Club”- David Rodigan MBE.

Based in London but founded in Leeds in 2006, 8-piece band Gentleman’s Dub Club have made an indelible mark on the live music scene. Their electronic music-infused dub and reggae and their high-energy shows garnering appearances at all major UK festivals including Glastonbury, Bestival, Boomtown and V Fest. Touring has taken the band international, and people from countries such as India, Morocco, the USA, and Iceland have been delighted by the band’s infectious commitment to plugging in and leaving their guts on stage.

Their five albums (Down to Earth, Fourtyfour, The Big Smoke, Dubtopia and Lost In Space) have received widespread acclaim from DJs and music fans around the world, and have spent the vast majority of their time in the top echelons of the iTunes reggae charts. Their track ‘High Grade’ from the Open Your Eyes EP is now a universally recognized reggae anthem.

David Rodigan, who has been a longtime supporter of the Gentlemen’s output, hosted a Gentleman’s Dub Club Maida Vale feature on BBC Radio 1 Xtra in 201 5, and handed the reins of his world-famous Sunday night BBC Radio 1 Xtra show over to the Gents for a takeover special in 2019. They have collaborated with international stars such as Joe Dukie (Fat Freddy’s Drop), Hollie Cook, P Digsss (Shapeshifter, NZ), Charlie 2na (Jurassic Five) or Kiko Bun, and have just announced their 2023 tour co-headlining with The Skints – their biggest tour to date.

Not only a successful and flamboyant band, the Gentlemen’s are individually very active in the music scene, working with artists such as Jorja Smith, Maverick Sabre or the Outlook Orchestra. One band member regularly performs at Ronnie Scott’s with his quarter and teaches at renowned Trinity College.

Band members: Jonathan Scratchley (Vocals), Tommy Evans (Drums), Luke Allwood (Keys), Nick Tyson (Guitar), Toby Davies (Bass, synths, production), Niall Lavelle (Percussion), Matt Roberts (Trumpet), Kieren Gallagher (Sax), and Doug Hunt (Sound).